Sign Up   |  
Log In
Username:
Password:
Log In
  |   Contact Us

Missouri Marriage License Info

Home   |   Local Services   |   Reception Sites   |   Specials & Deals   |   Community   |   Marriage License   |   Wedding Blog   |   Link To Us   |   About Us
How the Missouri Marriage License Works

Applying for a Missouri marriage license can only take place at the Office of the Recorder of Deeds in Missouri. The good news is that there are a number of these spread out over the state, so regardless of your county of choice you should still be able to find one with a relative amount of ease.

When you are applying for your Missouri marriage license, you do need to actually bring identification with you in order to make that work. For example, some sort of Government Issue photo ID would be perfect for proof of identification and proof of age. In addition, both partners in the wedding should have their social security numbers on hand in order to get immediate issuance of a Missouri marriage license. If one of the partners has been married before, proof of the end date of that marriage must also be shown.

There is no waiting period in Missouri most of the time when it comes to getting married. However, if one of the two partners has been divorced, the marriage must take place at least 30 days after the actual date of divorce as proven on the divorce decree. Furthermore, when someone is applying for a Missouri marriage license, a fee is required. That fee is usually going to be at least $60, although prices vary depending on the county and the specific needs for the marriage license.

As far as what the marriage license covers, Missouri does not have that many options available in regards to marriage. Conventional marriage is basically the only thing that you can do with a Missouri marriage license. Covenant weddings are not covered. Proxy weddings are not allowed. Cousin marriage, common law marriage and same sex marriage are all banned as well. Minors may get married if they are 15-17 years old with the consent of their legal guardian. A court order is required for children under the age of 15, although the judge needs a very good reason to grant that order according to Missouri state law.

Once you have purchased the license in Missouri, it is good for a full 30 days from the date of purchase. If you have not gotten married in that period of time, the license is void and you need to reapply in order to get married. Make sure therefore that you do not apply without having a wedding date set.
 
 
Advertise | Business Login | Local Services | Specials & Deals | Community | Marriage License | Wedding Blog | Link To Us | About Us